• © Ren McGann. The Right.
    © Ren McGann. The Right.

Winners announced for the 2020 Nikon Surf Photo and Video of the Year Awards

The winners of the annual Nikon Surf Photo and Video of the Year Awards have recently been revealed as Ren McGann for his image, The Right, while Andrew Kaineder was awarded the Nikon Surf Video of the Year Award for his piece, Flow State.

A panel of 10 high-profile judges from within the surfing industry including Nikon Brand Ambassador and seven-time World Surfing Champion, Stephanie Gilmore were tasked with selecting this year’s winners. “As a photographer myself, I was inspired by the calibre of entries which really demonstrated the unique, creative approach to capturing our beautiful ocean,” Gilmore said.

Ren McGann was awarded the Nikon Z6 kit, while Andrew Kaineder takes home the Nikon Z7.

Flow State by Andrew Kaineder

The finalists


© Andrew Leach 'David and Goliath'.
© Andrew Leach. David and Goliath.
© Gergo Rugli 'Warrior'
© Gergo Rugli. Warrior.
© Jamie Scott 'I can't hear you - Rick Corbett
© Jamie Scott. I can't hear you - Rick Corbett.
© Jamie Scott 'In the thick of it - Brad Norris
© Jamie Scott. In the thick of it - Brad Norris.
© Matt Dunbar 'Duck Dive'
© Matt Dunbar. Duck Dive.
© Peter Joli Wilson 'Portugal sunset'
© Peter Joli Wilson. Portugal sunset.
© Peter Jovic 'Gun barrel highway'
© Peter Jovic. Gun Barrel Highway.
© Peter Jovic 'No looking back'
© Peter Jovic. No looking back.
© Paul Smith. Flume.
© Paul Smith. Flume.
© Ray Collins. Cascade.
© Ray Collins. Cascade.
© Ray Collins. the Big Bang.
© Ray Collins. The Big Bang.
© Ren McGann. 'Free Fall'
© Ren McGann. Free Fall.
© Simon Punch 'Breathing - Scott Whip Dennis'
© Simon Punch. Breathing - Scott Whip Dennis.
© Stu Gibson 'Danny Sunset Stern'
© Stu Gibson. Danny Sunset Stern.
© Travis Johnson 'Froth Monster'
© Travis Johnson. Froth Monster.
© Tom Pearsall 'An unusual relationship'
© Tom Pearsall. 'An unusual relationship.
© Trent Slatter 'Empty'
© Trent Slatter. Empty.
© Trent Slatter 'Empty (2)'
© Trent Slatter.  Empty (2).