43 finalists revealed for the 2018 National Photographic Portrait Prize

The National Portrait Gallery has announced the 43 finalists for the 2018 National Photographic Portrait Prize, selected from a total of 3,224 entries.

The judging panel for this year included the Portrait Gallery’s Senior Curator, Christopher Chapman, contemporary artist and photographer, Petrina Hicks, and curator of Contemporary Design and International Art at the Art Gallery of Western Australia, Robert Cooke. The judges will reconvene in March to select the winners for the Prize, with the overall winner taking home the $30,000 cash prize and $20,000 in lighting equipment from Profoto and paper/film supplies from Ilford. The Highly Commended winner will receive an Eizo ColorEdge monitor valued up to $4,000.

The finalists for the National Photographic Portrait Prize 2018

Michele Aboud, Scott Anthony Andrews, Lara Del Arte, Zia Atahi, Julia Ann Cameron, Brett Canet-Gibson, Timothy James Coad, Eva Collins, Harold David Combs, Adrian Cook, Tamara Dean, Alex Ellinghausen, Adam Ferguson, Tiffany Jane Garvie, Bill Gekas, Saleheh Gholami, Douglas Philip Gimesy, Lee Grant, Holly Granville-Edge, Gary Grealy, Rhett Hammerton, James Horan, Lyndal Irons, Dianne Jones, Kristyn Jones, Dave Laslett, Stuart Miller, Emma Phillips, Joel Brian Pratley, David Prichard, Filomena Rizzo, David Rosetzky, Laura Sikes, Stephanie Simcox, Anna Sinclair, Hugh Snelgrove, Renée Stamatova, Jacqui Stockdale, George Voulgaropoulos, Marzena Wasikowska, Nicole Katherine Wells.

The National Photographic Portrait Prize 2018 exhibition will be on display at the National Portrait Gallery from 24 March 2018 until 17 June 2018, before touring the country.