The Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism - call for entries

The call for entries for the Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism is now open. Making a submission is free for MEAA members, while entry fees for others has been reduced by 50% to $150.

Finalists are selected by eminent journalists and photographers and overall winners judged by the Walkley Judging Board. The Gold Walkley is the most prestigious of the awards, and is chosen from all category winners.

All the category descriptionsterms and conditions, and FAQs are available at the links. All entries must have been published in Australia in the 12 months from 1 September 2018 to 31 August, 2019.

Categories and prizes relevant to photographers include:

  • Nikon-Walkley Press Photographer of the Year
  • News photography: Newsworthiness, impact, technical superiority, creativity and originality will be looked at in this category. News photography encompasses a range of news photography from an exclusive or spontaneous news moment or images depicting news values on the day. The images should represent a story or event not a series on a theme.
  • Sport photography: This category will reward those who capture the emotion and drama of sport. Entries may show action and/or feature imagery in the sporting arena. Will be judged on up to five images. These do not have to be related and can represent a body of work.
  • Feature/photographic essay: Between 5 and 12 images of a feature story or essay, of which one photograph must have been published on any platform.
  • Nikon Photography Prizes:

  1. Photo of the Year: Recognises an outstanding “hero” image worthy of individual celebration and recognition. Judges will select a single image that defines the year from photographs submitted across all categories in the awards.
  2. Portrait Prize: Recognising excellence in portraiture, photographers can enter a single image.
  3. Community/Regional Prize: Celebrating the best work of photographers working in regional and community media, entries for this prize can comprise up to five images.
  4. Contemporary Australian Daily Life Prize: A single picture or a series of up to 5 still images with an emphasis on stories of originality and human interest.

Entries close midnight, 31 August.

Get more stories like this delivered
free to your inbox. Sign up here.